one baker's humble attempt to change the world one cupcake at a time

Groovy Tie-Dyed Fireworks Cake

I have to be honest here. I did not make this cake for the Fourth of July. I didn’t make anything in fact, despite high hopes (and drooling at the thought) of red velvet AND lemon ricotta pancakes alternating in a stack, topped with blueberries and whipped cream. Oh well, maybe next year.

The reason I was never able to make these fantasy pancakes was not due to laziness, but do a far more important post-wedding brunch I attended this morning. The wedding festivities actually kept me busy for most of the weekend, but I was able to bake and photograph one batch of treats — more on that later.

The cake featured here was made for my sisters’ and my graduation party way back when, to accompany those delicious peanut butter button cookies that disappeared all too soon. I found the original “groovy cake” on cuteeverything.com, and did my best to replicate the look.

Almost every component of this cake came from a box, can, or tube, making it incredibly easy.

Step One: Make a batch of white cake batter (I used a box)

Step Two: Separate about half of the batter into four small bowls and add food coloring until you have vibrantly colored batter

Step Three: Spoon batter into a greased cake pan, alternating colors and using the white batter as a base until all of the batter is transferred to the pan and you have a fun and splotchy mess of a cake

Step Four: Bake cake according to your recipe’s directions

Step Five: Allow cake to cool COMPLETELY

Step Six: Frost the cake with white frosting (I used frosting from a can)

Step Seven: Using gel coloring pens (or something similar), draw hexagons in groups of three or four (to create a spider web effect) in alternating colors randomly across the cake

Step Eight: Draw a toothpick through the colors to create the firework effect

Step Nine: Add skittles around the base of the cake, to the centers of each firework and randomly around the cake however you see fit

Step 10: Serve, and smile politely as people “ooh” and “ah” over the surprise tie-dyed interior

Before I could even snap a picture, my sneaky friend crept up behind me and stole a bite. Some people!

Happy Independence Day!!

P.S. My blog has moved! For more yummy recipes, go to www.youngidealisticbaker.com!

Comments on: "Fourth of July Fireworks Cake" (4)

  1. Hello YIB!! I saw the pingbackk to my site and I came here to check it out. I have to confess that I did not actually make the cake myself, I just featured it, but it sure has gotten a lot of press. I found it on the brightideas site which is a site for m&m’s.

    I think you did a great job on it! And I especially liked how you made it in a sheet pan as it seems MUCH more doable that way to me. If it would be okay with you, I’d like to feature your cake and your site on cuteeverything as Groovy Cake, Take two and I would link people back to you to learn more about your site. Let me know! Thank you!

  2. […] white and blue! With the holiday M&M’s around the edges, it could look pretty festive! Click here to get full instructions with step-by-step photos of how to make and decorate the […]

  3. Hi! I just wanted to let you know that I posted about your cake today at: http://cuteeverything.com/cute/food-fun/groovy-cake-take-two/

    I hope that is okay with you! Great job! Thanks again. And BTW, love your blog name, my parents said the same thing about me. I think I’m getting even more idealistic all the time (and I’m not young!) Thanks!

Leave a comment